Kindly Leave the Stage 2016

Touring April - June 2016

 Baroque Theatre Company Presents

“Kindly Leave the Stage”

By John Chapman

Directed by Adam Morley 

Produced by Claire Bibby 

Sponsored by Clarian Ltd

Presented by arrangement with Film Rights Ltd

The show is a celebration of fun, mayhem and thespian mischief and is of a similar format to ‘Noises off’ a play within a play. The ensemble go head to head as they play the characters in the play and the actors who are in the play…. sound confusing, well it’s not! – It’s a fast-paced farce which is easy to watch and a lot of fun! You’ll see jealousy, revelations and the precious actor’s egos revealed. Some crisp writing and hilarious ‘double entrendres’ from John Chapman.

The marriage of Rupert and Sarah is on the rocks and their friends Charles and Madge, both of whom are lawyers, agree to handle the divorce. After the curtain has been up a few minutes, Rupert forgets his lines, has a brain storm and threatens to kill Charles in full view of the audience because he's been having an affair off stage, with Rupert's real wife, Madge. Quite true as it happens. The rest of the cast try to ignore the incident and forge ahead with the original play but Rupert picks up a knife and advances on Charles, who is forced to take cover in a large cabin trunk which is on the set at the time. A real life marital comedy now evolves. The situation is further complicated when the actor playing the old father, Edward, makes his entrance. He is an ageing Shakespearean star, once famous for his King Lear but now an alcoholic on the skids. He happens to have asked his new agent to the performance that night. Edward is blissfully unaware that the play has switched from art to life. Out of loyalty to a fellow actor, the rest of the cast do their best to accommodate the poor chap, but he gradually begins to crack up, especially as some of his cues are coming from a cabin trunk. The play is a light hearted tilt at the complete theatricality of stage folk.

Tour Dates:

 
Friday 1st April 7.45pm
The Capitol Horsham, West Sussex
Box Office01403 750220
 
Saturday 2nd April 7.45pm
Playhouse Theatre Whitstable, Kent
Box Office: 01227 272042
www.playhousewhitstable.co.uk

Sunday 3rd April 7.30pm
Alkham Village Hall, Alkham, Kent
Box Office: Geoff 01303 892878 or Brian 01304 824969
www.alkham.org

Friday 8th April 7.30pm
The Cotswold Playhouse, Stroud, Gloucestershire
Box Office: 0333 666 3366
Saturday 9th April 7.30pm
Camberley Theatre, Camberley, Surrey
Box Office: 01276 707600
www.camberleytheatre.biz

Sunday 10th April 7.00pm
The Broadway, Barking, Essex
Box Office: 020 8507 5610
www.thebroadwaybarking.com
 
Saturday 16th April 7.30pm
Bonington Theatre, Arnold Leisure Centre, Arnold, Notts
Box Office: 0115 901 3640
www.boningtontheatre.co.uk

Friday 22nd April 7.30pm
Braintree Arts Theatre, Essex
Box Office: 01376 556 354
www.braintreeartstheatre.com

Saturday 23rd April 7.30pm
Pavilion Theatre Gorleston, Norfolk
Box Office: 01493 662832
www.gorlestonpavilion.co.uk

Thursday 5th May 7.45pm
Lichfield Garrick Theatre & Studio, Staffordshire
Box Office: 01543 412121
 
Friday 6th May 7.30pm
Masham Town Hall, North Yorkshire
Box Office: 01765 680200
 

Saturday 7th May 7.30pm 

Seaton Delaval Arts Centre, Whitley Bay, Northumberland 

Box Office:  0191 237 5460​​​ 

www.seatondelavalartscentre.com

 
Friday 13th May 7.30pm 
Beccles Public Hall & Theatre, Beccles, Suffolk
Box Office: 01502 770060
becclespublichall.org.uk

Saturday 14th May 7.30pm
John Peel Centre for Creative Arts, Stowmarket, Suffolk
Box Office: 01449 774678
 
Thursday 19th May 7.30pm
Weymouth Pavilion, Dorset
Box Office: 01305 783225

  

Friday 20th May 7.30pm
The Acorn, Penzance, Cornwall
Box Office: 01726 879500
theacornpenzance.com
Bookings via Cornish Riviera Box Office:
www.crbo.co.uk/eventDetail.php?evGrp=17&evId=12208
Tel: 01726 879500

Saturday 21st May 7.30pm
Grampound Community Hall, Cornwall
Box Office: 01726 883874
www.grampound.org.uk/hall

Monday 23rd May 8.00pm

The Regal Theatre, Minehead 

Box Office:01643 706430 

www.regaltheatre.co.uk

Friday 27th May 7.30pm
Blackfriars Theatre & Arts Centre, Boston, Lincs
Box Office: 01205 363108
www.blackfriarsartscentre.co.uk

Saturday 28th May 7.30pm
Bollington Arts Centre, Bollington, Cheshire
 
Tuesday 31st May 7.30pm
Maddermarket Theatre, Norwich, Norfolk
Box Office: 01603 620917
www.maddermarket.co.uk

Wednesday 1st June 7.30pm
Swindon Arts Centre, Wiltshire
Box Office: 01793 524 481
swindontheatres.co.uk

Thursday 2nd June 7.30pm
Cygnet Theatre, Exeter, Devon
Box Office: 01392 277189
cygnettheatre.co.uk
EVIT (Exeter Visitor Information & Tickets) 01392 665885
 
Friday 3rd June 7.30pm
Sterts Theatre & Arts Centre, Liskeard, Cornwall
Box Office:  01579 362382 
www.sterts.co.uk

Friday 10th June 7.30pm
The Robinson Theatre, Hills Road Sixth Form College, Cambridge
Book Online: www.ticketsource.co.uk/hillsroadsixthformcollege

Saturday 11th June 7.30pm
Riverhead Theatre, Louth, Lincolnshire
Box Office:  01507 600350
 

Saturday 18th June 7.30pm 

The Atrium Theatre, North Walsham, Norfolk
Box office: 01692 218060
Book online: www.artsnorthnorfolk.org
In person at No. 1 Market Place 

Tuesday 21st June 7.30pm
The Guild Hall & Charter Theatre, Preston, Lancashire
Box Office: 01772 804444
www.prestonguildhall.com/events/view/352

Wednesday 22nd June 7.30pm
Stanwix Theatre, University of Cumbria, Carlisle
Box Office: 01228 400356
Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it." target="_blank">This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..uk

 Thursday 23rd June 7.30pm 

 

The Beggar’s Theatre, Millom, Cumbria 

Box Office: 01229 775677 

www.beggarstheatre.co.uk

 

Friday 24th June 7.30pm
Regal Tenbury Wells
Box Office: 01584 811 442 
 
 Saturday 25th June 7.30pm
Trinity Arts Centre, Gainsborough, Lincolnshire
Box Office: 01427 676655
microsites.lincolnshire.gov.uk/tac
 
2017  Baroque Theatre Company